Step Two - upgrading to a blue card

The Red Trained Operator card will only for 2 years. In this time you are required to undertake the relevant NVQ in order to upgrade your card to the Blue Competent Operator Card. The red card cannot be renewed, the only way to remain in the CPCS scheme is to complete the relevant NVQ.

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) are competence based and are achieved in the workplace. They demonstrate your ability at work by recognising the skills, knowledge, ability, training and experience required to perform a job safely and in an effective and efficient manner.

To complete the NVQ you will be required to submit work based evidence and also complete an assessment by observation with the assessor. 

Ainscough Training Services is an accredited Cskills Awards centre offering NVQs relating to the lifting industry. For all the CPCS training we offer we also offer the corresponding NVQ so we can take you through the whole process from start to finish. Please see the 'NVQ' menu above to view our full list of categories that we offer.

Or Click the relevant category below to book your NVQ:

CPCS Appointed Person NVQ

CPCS Crane Supervisor NVQ

CPCS Slinger Signaller NVQ

CPCS Plant Operations - Mobile Crane NVQ

CPCS Plant Operations - Tower Crane NVQ

CPCS Plant Operations - Lorry Loader NVQ

Experienced Worker Practical Assessment (EWPA):

The Experienced Worker Practical Assessment (EWPA) route was introduced to provide an alternative to the traditional OSAT method of portfolio building and on site assessment. It is used to assess experienced learners who would prefer to demonstrate their competence using a one-off practical assessment. 

It is designed specifically for learners who have a minimum of 2 years experience in the relevant occupation but are unable to arrange an onsite assessment or gather sufficient evidence for the portfolio.

The assessment is based on five contributing items:

Witness testimony (for each unit)

Employer endorsement

Practical assessment

Professional discussion (one-to one discussion with an assessor)

Knowledge questioning (one-to one discussion with an assessor)

To undertake the EWPA delegates are required to have:

Sufficient experience of the skills of the qualification, so planning their working day, problem solving and decision making and working to deadlines are a usual day to day activity

an ability to cope with the demands of an intensive practical assessment process

an ability to work safely at all times

an ability to discuss their work activities with others

Ainscough Training Services is an accredited centre for EWPA in the following categories:

Please click Slinger/Signaller & Mobile Crane Operator

Once you have completed the NVQ you will be entitled to apply for the CPCS Blue Competent Operator card. This card lasts for 5 years and is renewed via the CPCS renewal process.