The Red Trained Operator card will only for 2 years. In this time you are required to undertake the relevant NVQ in order to upgrade your card to the Blue Competent Operator Card. The red card cannot be renewed, the only way to remain in the CPCS scheme is to complete the relevant NVQ.

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) are competence based and are achieved in the workplace. They demonstrate your ability at work by recognising the skills, knowledge, ability, training and experience required to perform a job safely and in an effective and efficient manner.

To complete the NVQ you will be required to submit work based evidence and also complete an assessment by observation with the assessor. Ainscough Training Services is an accredited Cskills Awards centre offering NVQs relating to the lifting industry. For all the CPCS training we offer we also offer the corresponding NVQ so we can take you through the whole process from start to finish. Please see the ‘NVQ’ menu above to view our full list of categories that we offer.

In 2019, NOCN Job Cards acquired the Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS) the leading skills certification scheme for plant within the UK construction industry from CITB. NOCN Job Cards provide proof that individuals have the required training and qualifications for the type of work they carry out.

The scheme operates two cards, below is the “old design CPCS card that is still valid until the respective category expiry date and the new CPCS card under NOCN .

The new CPCS Digital SMART Cards feature: – Near Field Communication (NFC) technology – Increased fraud prevention – Secure authentification for employers.

Or Click the relevant category below to book your NVQ:

CPCS Appointed Person NVQ

CPCS Crane Supervisor NVQ

CPCS Slinger Signaller NVQ

CPCS  Mobile Crane NVQ

CPCS Lorry Loader NVQ

CPCS Compact Crane

CPCS Telescopic Handler


Once you have completed the NVQ you will be entitled to apply for the CPCS Blue Competent Operator card. This card lasts for 5 years and is renewed via the CPCS renewal process.